A Follow up to Way Out West …

So, I’ve had some interesting e-mails and comments from the Way Out West: Los Angeles Excursion post. None better than from Dan at You Will Soon. Mr. Watson said:

“Don’t forget in the low economy + overpriced goods equation to factor in really lousy service, which seems to be the staple in boutique type shops. Makes them even cooler.

I went to SLB and really wanted the “Hate And Destroy” shirt, and grabbed it off the rack, there were 3 people by the counter looking at shoes or something, and I looked at them and held up the shirt to indicate that I needed help, and they just looked away. I stood there for 10 minutes waiting and then left.

I regret not waiting longer. It’s a sick shirt.”

Seriously, this is one of the reasons I hate skate boutiques and why some of them are bad for skating. Working in a shop you should really make an effort to get people hyped on skating. If that means actually taking the time to sell a shirt. Then actually make the sale. I know, it’s a revolutionary concept.

Sales jobs aren’t easy ask any rep who is out there trying to book orders in this shitty economy. I imagine shops are feeling a big pinch also. You would think with all of this happening some shops would snap to it and actually hire skaters who can grow skateboarding as a whole by getting customers products in a quickly. That doesn’t seem to be the case but skate shops come and go. Once the money is going to the $6 gallon of gasoline and no longer supports a sneaker or New Era fitted habit I’m sure the herd will thin.

Update: baker Baker 1-9 left a solid comment about his/her experience in the shops. So, lets just say.. perspective, opinion staff on hand…who knows what’s up. check it out

“It’s funny because my experience a t most of those stores in Fairfax was different.I was greeted and asked if I needed help in most of those stores, except Supreme and The Hundreds. In defense of The Hundreds it’s a small shop that had like 8 people in it so they were kind of busy.Actually at SLB there was a guy at the counter and a guy working the floor (who was outside when I walked in talking to some kids). After I was in there for a bit he ran in and asked if I needed help.But, this was the Sunday before Memorial Day so maybe it was a slow day?Being that I work with independent retailers across the US (in a different industry) I was actually surprised with the service.”

One thought on “A Follow up to Way Out West …

  1. It’s funny because my experience a t most of those stores in Fairfax was different.I was greeted and asked if I needed help in most of those stores, except Supreme and The Hundreds. In defense of The Hundreds it’s a small shop that had like 8 people in it so they were kind of busy.Actually at SLB there was a guy at the counter and a guy working the floor (who was outside when I walked in talking to some kids). After I was in there for a bit he ran in and asked if I needed help.But, this was the Sunday before Memorial Day so maybe it was a slow day?Being that I work with independent retailers across the US (in a different industry) I was actually surprised with the service.

Leave a Reply

