Vans is Taking You Down Town This Weekend

Now was that so hard? I know the work week can be a bitch but c’mon five days shouldn’t kill you. Try skating and getting caught in the rain when the temperature drops form 75 to 56. That’ll mess you in all sorts of a “bad news” way. But, enough about the trials and tribulations of a young man and his skateboard, let’s talk about the weekend. There’s a lot going on and in particular one of my favorite events. That’s right it’s going down and place this Saturday: The Vans DownTown ShowDown.

The name alone actually conjours a vibe of the old skate comps and this one is pretty unique in my book. The Vans DownTown ShowDown. Yup, just saying it actually makes me smile, a solid company giving back to skating. Why do I like it so much? Well, I’m Glad you asked that very question. You are pretty much guaranteed to find weird obstacles to skate. The comp breaks the trend and bucks a little bit of the norm but still manage to put up some highly skateable terrain.

This year Vans upped the ante and offered up a design contest for user submitted terrain. So one lucky auto-cad knucklehead should have their obstacle along with features designed by a few skate teams you might have heard of: Girl, Creature, Foundation and Real. Actually, the lucky winner will not just get shop and drafting class bragging rights but they’ll also get an exact replica of their obstacle built where ever they want. I know…. I should have submitted my “mullet man pool coping wave ride.”


Speaking of obstacles here are the rumored company obstacles:

Creature: The Darkest Passage Into The Depths Of Doom and Despair

Girl: Girl Gonz Wild (a replica of the Gonz Gap at EMB back in the day)

Foundation: Former World’s Biggest Skateboard

Real: Sacto Rebate

On top of the terrain comp Vans is going to be webcasting and running give aways through the competition. There are more moving pieces of this everyday. So, why all it the blather? Simple, this is worth watching. I have yet to find good footage other than from the webcast but then again I am also not in the Hollywood skater elite. Peep the competition on October 13th. You won’t be disappointed. If you can’t make the competition do not sweat it…it will all be on Fuel TV in the coming months.

Annnnnd Drop!

Coming on the Heels of ‘Tony Hawk’s Proving Ground’ is Dustin Dollin’s Limited Edition DD-66. Last year Vans dropped a custom Tony Hawk’s Project 8 No Skool. Now while the shoes might not give you the same wild man bravado as DD you will get a code code to unlock the shoes in the THPG and slap them on your character. Another highlight of the game… guess where you can skate? That’s right, The DownTown ShowDown is included as a level. See how it’s all coming together? It’s like Vans planned this from day one. Good time

VANS Taka Pack
Finally bringing up the middle for this uber long update is the Vans X Taka Hayashi Skate Pack. This month, Vans has a special pack coming out with Hayashi’s art emblazoned on their newest styles, the Rowley Shambles, AV Sk8-Low, the DD-66 and the TNT III Slip-On, as well as four t-shirt styles.

Well-known in skate and street circles, Hayashi was born in Yokohama, Japan and transplanted to Santa Monica. Taka grew up in a defining era and locale in skate history and was influenced by the Venice pros who were regulars in the area.

AND Finally: Vans Opens Their New Doors

I have worked some crappy jobs in my life. I washed dishes. I processed vacation pictures in a photo lab. there was a time I stocked grocery store shelves. I even cleaned repossessed restaurant equipment. Lucky for me I’ve had some good jobs and now I get to do some really fun things with writing, skating and snowboarding.

I’ve never worked for a skate company directly. there’s really no direct knowledge and I’d like to think every day is fun. Maybe it’s a challenge but you have to enjoy who you are working for.So when Vans opened their new doors I figured why not let you see it with your own eyes. OK, why read my gibberish when a picture is worth a thousand words?


Vans should be easier to find these days. Real easy. Actually a pretty cool exterior if I think about the crappy places I worked in the past.

Yeah and this would be the interior. Splurging on dimmer switches I see.

History. Lots of history. Most of it good, some of it rad and all of it skating.

New digs means a new ramp! Escalators and a bowled in pocket. Now that’s good stuff!

OK, enough hot dogs, hamburgers and tours. Time to skate.

Leave a Reply

